Winners of inaugural British Muslim Awards set to be announced

Inaugural event: The British Muslim Awards.

Inaugural event: The British Muslim Awards.

First published in Business Daily

FOLLOWING 10,000 nominations nationally, the finalists for the inaugural British Muslim Awards, presented by The Islamic Bank of Britain, have been announced.

The awards honour the success and achievements of Britain’s Muslim individuals, groups and business people.

As well as shining the spotlight on the achievements of Muslim men and women the awards event, in Manchester next Tuesday, will raise money for multi-cause charitable enterprise Mosaic.

Irfan Younis, director of Oceanic Consulting, founders of the awards, said: “We have some truly inspirational individuals who are proud to be Muslim and British and this is the first time their efforts and achievements are being recognised in such a public way.

“We are also delighted to be working with the Islamic Bank of Britain, who are our headline sponsors.”

The finalists include:

Young Achiever:

  • Omar Ali (of Federation of Student Islamic Societies)
  • Imran Hakim (of i-teddy)
  • Rehana Azib (of 2 Temple Gardens)
  • Sajda Mughal (of Jan Trust)
  • Mamuna Farooq (of DJM Solicitors)

Charity of the Year:

  • Islamic Relief
  • Oxfam
  • Mosaic
  • Muslim Hands Tell
  • Mama Services

Finance & Accounts:

  • Sharjill Ahmed (of Bank of London and Middle East)
  • Mahmoud Atalla (of HSBC)
  • Amin Mawji (of Ernest & Young)
  • Farmida Bi (of Norton Rose)
  • Siddiq Musa (of KPMG)

Services to Law:

  • Imran Khan (of Imran Khan & Partners)
  • Aamir Anwar (of Aamer Anwar & Co)
  • Nazir Afzal (of CCPS)
  • Naema Choudry (of Eversheds)
  • Tahir Khan (of Barrister at Law at Broadway House Chambers)

Services to Science & Engineering:

  • Dr Javed Siddiqui (University of Manchester)
  • Abdulsalam Al-Mayahi
  • Professor Adel Sharif (University of Surrey)
  • Professor Mohamed El-Gomati (University of York)
  • Andy Miah (University of the West of Scotland)

Services to Media:

  • Saira Khan
  • Razia Iqbal
  • Mazher Mahmood
  • Sarwar Ahmed
  • Andleeb Hanif

Services to Creativity & Technology:

  • Sir Hossein Yassaie (of Imagination Technologies)
  • Shaf Rasul (of Enet Distribution)
  • Adeel Younis (of
  • Ajaz Ahmed (of Founder AKQA)
  • Uzma Hassan (of Producer, Infidels)

Businessman of the Year:

  • Iqbal Ahmed (of Seamark)
  • Aneel Musarrat (of MCR Property)
  • Tariq Usmani (of Henley Homes)
  • Toukar Suleyman (of Low Profile Holdings)
  • Akmal & Afzal Khushi (of Trespass Clothing)

Businesswoman of the Year:

  • Parveen Wassi (of S&A Foods)
  • Shazia Awan (of Peachy Pink)
  • Farida Gibbs (of Gibbs S3)
  • Nighat Awan (of Shere Group)
  • Farah Ramzan Golant (of All 3 Media)

Business of the Year:

  • Euro Garages
  • Bestway Cash & Carry
  • 99p Stores
  • Manchester City Football Club
  • S&A Foods

Entrepreneur of the Year:

  • Azeem Ibrahim
  • James Caan
  • Shahid Sheikh
  • Farnaz Khan
  • Wasfi Kani

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree