ALCESTER’s outgoing mayor has been elected to Stratford District Council along with 14 other Conservative candidates, and three Liberal Democrats.

Mark Cargill was elected to represent the Alcester ward, wining the seat from , while Daren Pemberton, who defected from the Liberal Democrats to the Conservatives held his seat in Bidford and Salford, and in Kinwarton, Mike Gittus also held his seat for the Conservatives.

In Sambourne, Conservative Justin Kerridge was re-elected, while Studley Liberal Democrat councillor Hazel Wright held her seat.

Councillor Cargill said: “I’m absolutely thrilled and slightly humbled, because I’ve had such tremendous support from the town, the people of the town. I’ve been bowled over by it.

“Now with having Eric, Sue, Mike and myself as a block vote as it were, fighting for Alcester at district and county level, we’ll certainly have our say.”

Councillor Cargill’s majority of 113 votes ousted long-standing Liberal Democrat councillor Susan Juned, who had stood on the council since 1990.

Mrs Juned added: “I just want to say thank you to everybody, because I’ve thoroughly enjoyed all the years that people have supported me. I’m really glad and proud that I’ve had the chance to represent Alcester in the way that I have.”

The result means that the Alcester ward is now solely represented by Conservative councillors at a district and county level.

Overall, the council’s 53 seats are now held by 35 Conservative councillors, 12 Liberal Democrats, one Labour councillor, two Independent councillors, and two Stratford First Independent councillors. There is also a vacancy in the Southam ward.

Click here for the full results.