SCRUM-HALF Luke Baldwin will captain Worcester Cavaliers in their Premiership Rugby Shield opener against Newcastle Falcons at Sixways tonight (7.30pm).

The number nine is among eight first-team players named in the squad, along with five academy aces and seven Hartpury players.

Tom Howe is joined by Mason Tonks and Noah Heward in the back three while Dean Hammond partners Hartpury’s Joe Margetts in the centres. Academy fly-half Luke Scully partners Baldwin in the half-back combination.

Kai Owen, Beck Cutting and Gareth Milasinovich start in the front row with James Scott teaming up with Hartpury lock Rob Fuller in the second row.

Zac Xiourouppa and Matt Cox are joined by Jamie Macartney in the back row while summer signing Farai Mudariki prepares to make his first Sixways showing from the replacements bench.

Entry to the game is free for under 18s and season ticket holders with their swipe card. It will cost £7.50 for all others.

Worcester Cavaliers.

15 Noah Heward (Solihull School).

14 Tom Howe.

13 Dean Hammond.

12 Joe Margetts (Hartpury).

11 Mason Tonks (Hartpury).

10 Luke Scully.

9 Luke Baldwin (C).

1 Kai Owen.

2 Beck Cutting.

3 Gareth Milasinovich.

4 James Scott.

5 Rob Fuller (Hartpury).

6 Jamie Macartney (Hartpury).

7 Zac Xiourouppa.

8 Matt Cox.


16 Jordan Liney (Hartpury).

17 Nick Rigby.

18 Farai Mudariki.

19 Max Katjijeko (Luctonians).

20 Ollie Walker (Hartpury).

21 Michael Heaney.

22 Sam Hollingsworth (Birmingham Moseley).

23 Ervin Muric (Hartpury).