THE CANDIDATES standing at next month’s general election have been revealed.

The full list of candidates who will be battle for votes on Thursday, December 12 to represent Worcester in Parliament includes Lynn Denham for the Labour Party, Stephen Kearney for the Liberal Democrats, independent candidate Martin Potter, Louis Stephen for the Green Party and Robin Walker for the Conservatives.

Cllr Lynn Denham currently represents the city’s Cathedral ward on Worcester City Council and Cllr Louis Stephen represents the city’s Battenhall ward.

Robin Walker was first elected to represent Worcester in 2010 ousting the then Labour MP Mike Foster by 2,490 votes.

He was re-elected in 2015 with a majority of 5,646 votes and again in 2017 with a majority of 2,490.

Liberal Democrat Stephen Kearney finished third in 2017 with 1,757 votes.

Louis Stephen stood for the Green Party in 2010 finishing sixth, fourth in 2015 and fifth in 2017. Martin Potter was due to stand for the Brexit Party in Worcester but will now stand as an independent candidate after leader Nigel Farage decided not to stand candidates in constituencies won by Conservatives in the previous election.

Mr Potter said he understood Nigel Farage’s decision to ‘put the country before the party’ but it was “somewhat unfortunate” that it had been applied to all constituencies across the country especially where the Brexit Party “had a real chance of winning.”

Mr Potter said he would still stand because if many Conservative MPs were re-elected- including Worcester and the rest of Worcestershire - Remainers would still be “at the heart” of parliament “allowing the tortuous transition process to be hijacked, delayed and changed in direction.” Polls open on Thursday, December 12 at 7am and close at 10pm.