THE Countryside Alliance Awards, also known as the Rural Oscars, are celebrating their 10th anniversary with a special Champion of Champions scheme.

Redditch MP Karen Lumley is urging her constituents to support Feckenham Village Shop in November’s public vote as it bids to be crowned the best of the best.

Feckenham Village Shop previously won a UK and Ireland title in the awards, making it eligible for the Champion of Champions scheme. The scheme is reliant on a public vote which will be open throughout November. The businesses with the most votes will walk away with top honours at a Parliamentary reception in February.

The Countryside Alliance Awards were created to support and promote rural communities and businesses and become the rural award to win. The Champion of Champions scheme sees 10 years worth of businesses and community heroes come back together to compete again.

Earlier this year Mrs Lumley visited the shop to join in its fifth birthday celebrations.

She said: “The Rural Oscars give a great platform to our rural businesses and communities and I am proud to support them.

"As a big supporter of Feckenham Village Shop I am keen to see them take the title and ask the whole constituency to get behind them and vote.

"After 20 years without a shop in Feckenham, the business has not only breathed new life into the village but is also helping to support other local businesses. They are committed to selling local food and drink from within the area with sandwiches, savoury tarts, luxury puddings, fudge and greetings cards all made in the village.

"The shop is entirely staffed by volunteers, who all go beyond the call of duty. Their aim is to provide a facility that strikes a happy balance between convenience store, farm shop and social meeting place for the village, outlying areas and passing trade.

"I have visited the shop many times and there is a real ‘feel good’ factor about the place and their relationship with the community. The shop has played a strong role in bringing people together and I am keen to see their efforts recognised.”

Vote online at between Saturday, November 1 from 9am and Sunday, November 30 from 6pm.