WORCESTER Cavaliers will play 10 matches in a brand-new format for the 2017/18 Premiership Rugby A League campaign.

Instead of the usual five matches, teams in the North Pool will now play each other home and away, with the top two sides progressing to the competition’s semi-finals.

The new format will see Warriors’ second-string outfit take on Leicester Tigers, Newcastle Falcons, Northampton Wanderers, Sale Jets and Wasps.

Warriors academy manager Chim Gale said: “The new format is ideal in terms of providing opportunities for fringe and younger players.

“Over the past few seasons we’ve seen a number of young stars put their hands up for first-team selection and having more games will only provide more competition for places at the weekend and also help players gain valuable game-time.”

Meanwhile in the South Pool, there will be seven teams who will all play each other home or away, before the top five after that stage will play a further four games against each other, home or away, in a second-phase mini league.

The top two clubs following the second-phase competition will progress to the semi-finals.

Worcester Cavaliers 2017/18 Premiership Rugby A League fixtures:

Monday, September 4: Worcester Cavaliers vs Leicester Tigers, Sixways (7.30pm).

Monday, September 25: Worcester Cavaliers vs Northampton Wanderers, Sixways (7.30pm).

Monday, October 2: Sale Jets vs Worcester Cavaliers, Heywood Road (7.30pm).

Monday, October 23: Worcester Cavaliers vs Wasps, Sixways (7.30pm).

Monday, November 27: Leicester Tigers vs Worcester Cavaliers, Welford Road (7.30pm).

Monday, December 18: Worcester Cavaliers vs Newcastle Falcons, Sixways (7.30pm).

Monday, January 1: Northampton Wanderers vs Worcester Cavaliers, Franklin’s Gardens (7.30pm).

Monday, March 26: Newcastle Falcons vs Worcester Cavaliers, Kingston Park (7.30pm) Monday, April 2: Worcester Cavaliers vs Sale Jets, Sixway (7.30pm).

Monday, April 9: Wasps vs Worcester Cavaliers, Ricoh Arena (7.30pm).